Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > Africa > Niger

Nigerian Political System

Following the 1999 constitution, Niger is a unitary state, presidential, and with the intentions of a democratic republic, but the country is politically very unstable. The president is elected in the general election for five years and can be re-elected once. He has wide powers and is both a government leader and military commander. He also appoints a prime minister who has certain executive responsibilities. Legislative power has been added to a national assembly of 113 members, elected for five years in general elections and with multi-party participation. Niger is characterized by political and ethnic tensions.

Political System of Niger

Administrative division

Niger is divided into seven regions as well as the metropolitan area. The regions are further divided into smaller units. The country's ethnic tensions indicate decentralization, but this can also threaten the country's unity.


The judiciary includes a Supreme Court, a Supreme Court of Justice, a State Security Court, a Court of Appeal, a Court of First Instance and a Labor Court. The legislation is based on French examples. See ABBREVIATIONFINDER for how NG can stand for Niger.

Other Countries in Africa

Politics eZine Copyright 1999 - 2020 All Rights Reserved