Zambia Political System

According to, with capital city of Lusaka, Zambia is a country located in Eastern Africa with total population of 18,383,966.

Where is ZambiaZambia

Following the 1996 Constitution, Zambia is a democratic, presidential and unified state republic. The head of state, the president, is elected in the general election for five years; the same person can only be selected twice. The President appoints the Vice President and the Government from among the members of the National Assembly. Legislative authority has been added to the National Assembly. It has 159 members, nine appointed and 150 elected for five years in the general election. The Assembly is elected simultaneously with the President. There is also a separate chieftain’s house, consisting of 27 members, who can process and comment on bills but do not block them.

Development policy is hampered by poorly developed infrastructure, a unilateral business sector, poorly developed schooling, high population growth, increasing health problems (especially AIDS) and large migration from rural to urban areas.


Administratively, Zambia is divided into nine provinces and these again into 55 districts. See ABBREVIATIONFINDER for how ZA can stand for Zambia. The provinces are governed by deputy ministers in the government, an expression of how centralized the government is. In the districts is the council of choice. In the cities of Lusaka, Ndola and Kitwe, the councils of the elected councils are mayors. The traditional power structures are reflected in the chieftain’s house, where members come from the nine provinces.


The judiciary is built on the basis of English common law, but has gradually gained a more national Zambian feel. The courts have traditionally been relatively independent. The Supreme Court is the Supreme Court. It includes a Justice and four other judges. Central is also a court of appeal, which is essentially a court of appeal. Furthermore, the judiciary comprises three classes of magistrate courts, the classes being defined according to the seriousness or importance of the cases. The judges of the supreme courts are appointed by the president (except for the Justice on a proposal from the Judicial Service Commission), to the lower courts of the Judicial Service Commission.

Presidents of Zambia

Period President
1964-1991 Kenneth Kaunda
1991-2002 Frederick Chiluba
2002-2008 Levy Mwanawasa
2008-2011 Rupiah Bwezani Banda
2011-2014 Michael Chilufya Sata
2014-2015 Guy Scott (acting)
2015- Edgar Chagwa Lungu