Suriname Political System

According to, with capital city of Paramaribo, Suriname is a country located in South America with total population of 586,643.

Where is Suriname

Following the 1987 Constitution, Suriname is a combined presidential and parliamentary-democratic unity state. The head of state, the president, is elected by the National Assembly for five years. He heads the government, the Cabinet and the Security Council, is a military commander and appoints the members of the government. The Vice President is also the Prime Minister. The Government is responsible to the National Assembly. Legislative authority is added to the National Assembly, which is elected in the general election for five years and has 51 members. In addition to the president, the Cabinet includes representatives of a number of interest groups, the armed forces and the political parties in the National Assembly. The Council is important. It shall advise the Government and the National Assembly and supervise their activities; it can suspend legislative decisions it believes violate the Constitution.


Administratively, the country of Suriname is divided into nine districts as well as the metropolitan area. See ABBREVIATIONFINDER for how SR can stand for Suriname.

The judiciary

The judiciary includes a judicial court and three cantonal courts. The legislation is based on Dutch and French examples.

Suriname’s defense

The total force figures for Suriname’s armed forces are 1840 active personnel (2018, IISS). All military forces fall under the army, and the country does not have its own air force or navy.

Materials include six light trucks and 15 armored personnel vehicles. One sea component has 240 active personnel and 10 patrol vessels, and an air component has 200 active personnel, three aircraft and three helicopters.


At the turn of the century the Suriname was shaken by financial scandals that involved some ministers and by social protests against the government’s economic policy. The legislative elections of May 2000 thus resulted in a heavy defeat of the main party of the ruling majority, the Nationale Democratische Partij (NDP, National Democratic Party), which participated in the consultations within the Millenium Combinatie (MC, Millennium Alliance) coalition.. This obtained only 10 out of 51 seats, compared to the 33 won by the Nieuw Front (NF, New Front) electoral alliance, formed by the Nationale Partij Suriname (NPS, Suriname National Party), Pertajah Luhur (PL, Full Trust Party), Surinaamse Partij van de Arbeid (SA, Suriname Labor Party), and Vooruitstrevende Hervormingspartij (VHP, Progressive Reform Party). In August 2000 R. Venetiaan, leader of the NF, former head of state from 1991 to 1996, was re-elected president of the Republic by the National Assembly. Meanwhile, the position of D. Bouterse, the former dictator who came to power in 1980 and later became leader of the NDP, appeared to be increasingly compromised: already sentenced in absentia in 1999 by a Dutch court to 16years (later reduced to 11), for his involvement in drug trafficking between the Suriname and the Netherlands, Bouterse was later accused by a military court of the Suriname (Dec. 2004) for the murders committed in December 1982 in the course of a violent action of force against the opposition. In March 2005 the hypothesis of his candidacy for the presidency of the Republic was opposed by the United States, but this possibility was nevertheless averted by the success in the legislative elections (May) of the NF, which won 23 seats; the NDP, although growing especially among the younger electorate, stopped at 15. In August Venetiaan was reconfirmed as president, beating the NDP candidate, R. Parmessar.