Spain Political System

According to, with capital city of Madrid, Spain is a country located in Southern Europe with total population of 46,754,789. Spain is bordered to the north by France and Andorra, to the northwest by Portugal, to the east by Spain’s North African enclaves of Ceuta and Melilla, and to the south by Gibraltar. To its west lies the Atlantic Ocean, while along its Mediterranean coast lies a number of Balearic Islands. In addition, Spain shares maritime borders with Morocco and Algeria. The country is geographically diverse, with mountain ranges such as the Pyrenees in the north and Sierra Nevada in the south. Further south lies an extensive plain known as La Mancha. There are also numerous peninsulas that jut out into different bodies of water such as Galicia in the northwest corner and Catalonia in northeast Spain. Visit countryaah for countries that start with letter S.

Where is Spain

Spain is a parliamentary- democratic and semi-federal monarchy. The head of state is the monarch, while the executive power lies with the government, which is led by a prime minister. The National Assembly, Cortes, consists of two chambers, a Chamber of Deputies and a Senate.

Spain is divided into 17 autonomous regions, which in turn are divided into 50 provinces. See ABBREVIATIONFINDER for how ES can stand for Spain. The country’s supreme court is the Supreme Court, Tribunal Supremo.

Constitution and political system

According to the Constitution of 1978, Spain is a parliamentary-democratic and semi-federal monarchy. Felipe 6 is the king of Spain. He took over in 2014 after Juan Carlos 1. Juan Carlos was appointed by General Franco in 1969 to continue his politics, but upon his accession in 1975, Juan Carlos played a crucial role in the reintroduction of democracy in Spain.

Although the king thus became an important political player, and to some extent remains to be, the king’s role is primarily of a constitutional nature. The real executive power lies with the parliamentarily responsible, prime minister-led, government. See for shopping and eating in Spain.

The House, Cortes, consists of two houses:

  1. A people-elected deputy congress with 350 members. Ratio choicesare kept. The Spanish name is Congreso de los Diputados.
  2. A Senate with 208 elected (by majorityin each province) and 51 indirectly elected (from the autonomous regions) members. The Spanish name is Senado.

The first house is politically important. Both houses are selected for four years, but can be dissolved before a period is over. In addition, there is a consultative government council, Consejo de Estado, with 23 members.

The regions

Regional contradictions play a role in Spain. In 1979, the statute for 17 autonomous regions was approved by referendum. Each region has a people-elected assembly and a government. However, the autonomy of the regions varies considerably.

The Basque Country and Cataluña have the greatest autonomy; the latter gained greater self-government following a referendum in 2006. As the most economically developed parts of Spain, and as culturally rather distinct, they have always disliked being governed from Madrid and the traditionally less developed Castilla.

Under the regions, Spain is further divided into 50 provinces and a large number of municipalities, all with a certain degree of local autonomy and with elected governing bodies. In addition, there are two excavators in Morocco: Ceuta and Melilla.


The judiciary is administered by a Judicial General Council, the Consejo General del Poder Judicial, consisting of the chairman of the Supreme Court and 20 members appointed by the king. The Attorney General is appointed by the King on a proposal from the Government.

The Supreme Court is the Supreme Court, Tribunal Supremo, divided into five courts. At the next level there are a number of offenses, such as national law (with three branches), the supreme courts of the autonomous regions and the provincial courts.

The lower courts include criminal, administrative, labor, juvenile, and first-degree court cases. In addition there are interrogation courts and, in municipalities that lack ordinary first instance courts, magistrate courts.

The current law is to a large extent collected in codifications, mainly according to the French pattern.

Spain’s international relations

Spain is a member of the UN and the UN’s special organizations, including The World Bank, by the way EU, NATO, Council of Europe, OSCE, World Trade Organization and OECD.

Spain is represented in Norway at its embassy in Oslo, while Norway is represented in Spain at its embassy in Madrid. In addition, Norway has a Consulate General in Alicante and 14 honorary consultants in Spain. Honorary consulates can be found in Algeciras, Barcelona, Benidorm, Bilbao, Castellón de la plana, Gerona, La Coruña, Malaga, Las Palmas, Seville, Tenerife, Torrevieja and Valencia.