Slovenia Political System

According to, with capital city of Ljubljana, Slovenia is a country located in Southern Europe with total population of 2,078,949.

Where is Slovenia

Following the Constitution of 1991, amended in 2000, Slovenia is a unified state parliamentary-democratic republic. The head of state, the president, is elected in the general election for five years. He has primarily ceremonial functions and can be re-elected once. The real executive power is added to the prime minister and government. The government is based on and is responsible to the elected National Assembly (Državni Zbor). The Assembly, which has the legislative authority, has 90 deputies, elected for four years. The Italian and Hungarian minorities have the right to elect one representative each to the assembly. There is also a national council of 40 members, who can propose laws and ask the national assembly to reconsider e.g. legislative decisions. The Council consists of representatives of employers and employees, but also other interest groups; to a large extent it has a corporate feel.


Administratively, Slovenia is divided into 193 municipalities, of which 11 are municipalities. Municipalities can join forces with others in regional cooperation. See ABBREVIATIONFINDER for how SI can stand for Slovenia.


The judiciary encompasses the Supreme Court, regional courts and district courts. In addition, there are separate labor courts and social courts, with a labor and social justice court. There is a separate constitutional court. The Supreme Court judges are elected by the National Assembly.

Presidents of Slovenia

Presidents of Slovenia since 1990.

1990-2002 Milan Kučan
2002-07 Janez Drnovšek
2007-2012 Danilo Türk
2012- Borut Pahor