Singapore Political System

According to, with capital city of Singapore, Singapore is a country located in Southeastern Asia with total population of 5,850,353.

Following the constitution of 1959, with amendments by 1996, Singapore is a unified state and democratic republic. The head of state, the president, is elected in the general election for six years. The real executive power lies with the government and the prime minister. The prime minister’s position is particularly strong because he also leads the completely dominant party, the People’s Action Party (PAP). This party has been in power continuously since 1959, and has usually held almost all the seats in the 84-member parliament. The MPs are elected in general elections for five years from single or multi-person constituencies. The policy is dominated by the almost state-carrying party and its leader, and has a slightly authoritarian character. To ensure national unity, a 21-member presidential council has also been established.


The judiciary is British in character, but since 1994 the British Privy Council Judicial Committee is no longer the supreme court of appeal. The country’s supreme court is the Supreme Court; it includes a court of appeal and a court of appeal. The President of the Supreme Court is appointed by the President after consultation with the Prime Minister. The other Supreme Court judges are also appointed by the President, but after consultation with the Supreme Court chair. The further courts are district courts, magistrates’ courts, juvenile courts, forensic and minor litigation courts. There is also a Muslim Sharia law and two labor rights. Since emphasis is placed on working life, the last two dishes are of great importance.

Administrative division

Singapore is divided into five districts but has no local government. See ABBREVIATIONFINDER for how SG can stand for Singapore.