Senegal Political System

According to, with capital city of Dakar, Senegal is a country located in Western Africa with total population of 16,743,938.

Where is Senegal

Following the Constitution of 1963, amended in 2001, Senegal is a unified state and approximately a democratic republic. The head of state, the president, is elected from the 2007 general elections for five years with the possibility of one re-election. He heads the executive and is a military commander. The prime minister and the other government are appointed by the president and in practice are primarily responsible to him. Legislative authority has been added to the National Assembly. It has 120 members who are elected in the general election for five years. Both the president and the assembly can initiate legislation, but all laws must be sanctioned by the president. The country has a multi-party system. According to African conditions, Senegal has a stable system of government, despite tensions of ideological, religious, personal and regional character.

Land area 196,722 km²
Total population 15,736,368
Residents per km² 80
Capital Dakar
Official language French
Income per capita 3,500 USD
Currency CFA Franc BCEAO
ISO 3166 code SN
Internet TLD .sn
License plate SN
Telephone code +221
Time zone UTC ± 0
Geographic coordinates 14 00 N, 14 00 W.

Administrative division

Senegal is divided into ten regions as well as the metropolitan area, each headed by a state-appointed governor and an elected council. Furthermore, there are ministries, headed by prefects, and district ministries, led by sub-prefects. There is also chosen advice at the lower levels. See ABBREVIATIONFINDER for how SG can stand for Senegal.


The Senegalese judiciary is characterized by French law and is relatively independent. The supreme judicial bodies consist of a constitutional court, a minister of state, a court of Cassation and a court of appeal.