Niger Political System

According to, with capital city of Niamey, Niger is a country located in Western Africa with total population of 24,206,655.

Where is Niger

Following the 1999 constitution, Niger is a unitary state, presidential, and with the intentions of a democratic republic, but the country is politically very unstable. The president is elected in the general election for five years and can be re-elected once. He has wide powers and is both a government leader and military commander. He also appoints a prime minister who has certain executive responsibilities. Legislative power has been added to a national assembly of 113 members, elected for five years in general elections and with multi-party participation. Niger is characterized by political and ethnic tensions.

Administrative division

Niger is divided into seven regions as well as the metropolitan area. The regions are further divided into smaller units. The country’s ethnic tensions indicate decentralization, but this can also threaten the country’s unity.


The judiciary includes a Supreme Court, a Supreme Court of Justice, a State Security Court, a Court of Appeal, a Court of First Instance and a Labor Court. The legislation is based on French examples. See ABBREVIATIONFINDER for how NG can stand for Niger.


The opposition presidential candidate is stopped

November 13

Nigerian Constitutional Court has stopped opposition leader Moden leader Hama Amadou from running in the December presidential election. However, the ruling party PNDS candidate Mohamed Bazoum, former interior minister, gets the green light. The court gives no explanation for Amadou’s rejection as a candidate, but he has previously been convicted of smuggling infants. He was pardoned in March at the outbreak of the corona pandemic when there was a fear of a rapid spread of infection in the country’s overcrowded prisons. Another dozen people are stopped from running, while about 30 are approved. According to the constitution, President Issoufou cannot stand for re-election because he has served two terms.