Micronesia Political System

According to Countryaah.com, with capital city of Palikir, Federated States of Micronesia is a country located in Micronesia with total population of 112,640.

State and politics

The Federation Legislative Assembly, Congress, has 14 members, ten elected in two years and four in four years. The latter represent each of the four states, Chuuk, Kosrae, Pohnpei and Yap. Among them, a president and a vice president are elected, also in four years, after which the vacancies in Congress are filled. In each state there is a governor and a legislative assembly, elected for four years.

A Compact of Free Association treaty between the Micronesian Federation and the United States entered into force in 1986. According to this, which is not time-limited, the United States retains responsibility for the Micronesian Federation’s defense for at least 15 years and at the same time provides financial assistance to the Federation. It was not until 1990 that the UN accepted that the Micronesian Federation ceased to be part of the Pacific Island Management Area. The Micronesian Federation was elected at the UN in 1991.


The legal order in the Micronesian Federation is largely characterized by American law. Each of the states has a state court, to which comes the National Supreme Court in the capital. The death penalty was abolished in connection with the country’s independence in 1986. See ABBREVIATIONFINDER for how FM can stand for Micronesia.

Heads of State

1979-87 Tosiwo Nakayama
1987-91 John Haglelgam
1991-97 Bailey Olter
1997-99 Jacob Nena
1999-2003 Leo Amy Falcam
2003-07 Joseph Urusemal
2007-15 Manny Mori
2015-19 Peter M. Christian
2019- David W. Panuelo