Madagascar Political System

According to, with capital city of Antananarivo, Madagascar is a country located in Eastern Africa with total population of 27,691,029.

Following the 1992 Constitution, most recently amended in 1998, Madagascar is a unified state and, in principle, a democratic republic. The head of state is a president who is elected in the general election for five years and can be re-elected twice. The Legislative Assembly has two chambers, a Senate and a National Assembly. The National Assembly is the important chamber from which the prime minister is based and the government is responsible. The National Assembly is elected in the general election and has 160 members, elected for four years. The mandates are allocated according to the ratio principle. The Senate has 100 members and is elected for four years. 2/3 of the Senate elected by a choice colleagues consisting of representatives selected from the provinces; 1/3 appointed by the President. See for Madagascar travel guide.

The party system is fragmented, although one party, the president’s, is clearly the largest. The parties are loose coalitions. Politics is characterized by people and personal rivalry. The contradictions between coastal people and people in the higher plateau areas, and a constant tug of war between those who want to centralize power and those who want a federal system, contributes to political lability. A weak and vulnerable economy also affects the stability of the board.

Administrative division

Madagascar is divided into six provinces according to the new constitution. See ABBREVIATIONFINDER for how MA can stand for Madagascar. In principle, the country has moved in the federal direction, but the locally elected governors were replaced in 2002 with government-appointed governors as a result of the country’s political crisis. The country is further divided into 22 regions and these again in municipalities.


The judiciary is characterized by French law and traditional law. This includes a Constitutional Court, a Supreme Court, a Court of Appeal and a Court of First Instance (primarily for civil, commercial and social law cases); In addition, ordinary criminal courts, special criminal courts (including cattle) and economic courts.