Luxembourg Political System

According to, with capital city of Luxembourg, Luxembourg is a country located in Western Europe with total population of 625,989.

Where is Luxembourg

Following the Constitution of 1868, with important changes in 1919 and most recently changed in 1999, Luxembourg is a constitutional monarchy, with a grand duke as head of state, and a parliamentary democracy. Legislative authority has been added to the Chamber of Deputies, which is elected in the general election for five years. The 60 representatives are elected according to the ratio method, but the voters have as many votes as candidates from a circle should be elected and can therefore spread their votes, even on multiple parties. There is voting power and therefore high turnout. A government of 21 people, appointed by the Grand Duke, has certain legislative functions. The Government is appointed by the Grand Duke, but is responsible to the Chamber of Deputies and represents its majority.

Administrative division

Luxembourg is a distinctly unitary state, divided into 12 cantons governed by the state and municipalities, governed by elected councils (6 years) and a mayor appointed by the council. See ABBREVIATIONFINDER for how LU can stand for Luxembourg.


The judiciary consists of peace courts, district courts and a Supreme Court (16 members). The judges of the supreme court are appointed by the Grand Duke, but on the advice of the court itself. The Supreme Court nominates judges for lower courts. Luxembourg does not use jury. It is a separate constitutional court and its own social courts. to settle insurance cases.

Luxembourg’s defense

Luxembourg has volunteer military service. For the army, the force numbers 900 active personnel, in addition the country has a gendarmerie of 600 personnel (2018, IISS). The country has no navy or air force. Luxembourg is a member of NATO.

The army is easily equipped, heavier equipment includes 48 armored personnel vehicles.

In 2018, Luxembourg participated in the NATO operation in Afghanistan (Operation Resolute Support) with two personnel, and in the EU operations in Mali (EUTM) and in the Mediterranean (EUNAVFOR MED) with two personnel and two helicopters respectively.