Lithuanian Political System

According to, with capital city of Vilnius, Lithuania is a country located in Northern Europe with total population of 2,722,300. Lithuania is bordered to the northwest by Latvia, to the east by Belarus, to the south by Poland and Russia, and to the southwest by a 60 mile stretch of coastline along the Baltic Sea. To the west lies the Baltic Sea with Sweden located across it. Lithuania shares a maritime border with Sweden, Finland, and Estonia as well. Lithuania’s capital city of Vilnius is located in the southeastern part of the country near both Belarus and Poland. The other cities located in Lithuania include Kaunas, Klaipėda, Šiauliai, Panevėžys and Alytus.

The geography of Lithuania is quite diverse with its flatlands in some areas and hilly terrain in other areas. The Curonian Spit is a narrow stretch of land that separates Lithuania from Kaliningrad Oblast in Russia. This region also has many lakes as well as forests and wetlands which are home to many species of wildlife such as deer, boars, elk and wolves. Lithuania has over three thousand rivers flowing through it as well as several large lakes such as Lake Vištytis and Lake Drūkšiai. The highest elevation point in all of Lithuania is Aukštojas Hill which stands at 294 meters above sea level. Visit countryaah for countries that start with letter L.

Following the 1992 Constitution, Lithuania is a parliamentary and democratic unity republic. The head of state is a president, elected in the general election for five years. A president can only sit for two terms. For the first time after independence, the new president wanted to make the governance presidential. It has not been, but the president plays more than a formal role; in particular, he plays a certain role in foreign policy. Legislative power has been added to a popularly elected assembly, Seimas, with 141 members elected for four years. 71 of the members are elected in one-man circles and 70 by relationship choice. The government has the executive power and is responsible to Seimas. The prime minister is appointed by the president, but must be approved by Seimas. The other ministers are appointed by the president on a proposal from the prime minister.


Administratively, Lithuania is divided into ten districts (apskritis), which in turn is divided into 60 municipalities (savivaldybės). See ABBREVIATIONFINDER for how LT can stand for Lithuania. In addition, there are 546 local districts, which in Lithuanian are called seniūnija, which really means elders council, or senior staff. Lithuania constitutes one NUTS-1 and NUTS-2, while each of the ten districts (apskritis) constitutes NUTS-3.


The judiciary includes a Supreme Court, a Court of Appeal, district courts and local courts. In addition, there is a commercial law. It is a separate constitutional court that can decide whether Seimas’, president’s and government’s actions are unconstitutional. Supreme Court judges areappointed by the president. The judges of the Constitutional Court are appointed by Seimas, as is the Attorney General and his deputies, while the State Attorneys at district and local level are appointed by the Attorney General. A new law was finalized in 2001.


1990-1992 Vytautas Landsbergis 1
1992-1998 Algirdas Brazauskas
1998-2003 Valdas Adamkus
2003-04 Rolandas Paksas
2004-09 Valdas Adamkus
2009- Dalia Grybauskaitė

1 Chairman of the Supreme Assembly

Prime Ministers of Lithuania

Period Prime minister
1990-1991 Kazimiera Prunskienė
1991 Albertas Šimenas
1991-1992 Gediminas Vagnorius
1992 Aleksandras Abišala
1992-1993 Bronislovas Lubys
1993-1996 Adolfas Šleževičius
1996 Laurynas Mindaugas Stankevičius
1996-1999 Gediminas Vagnorius
1999 Rolandas Paksas
1999-2000 Andrius Kubilius
2000-2001 Rolandas Paksas
2001-2006 Algirdas Brazauskas
2006-2008 Gediminas Kirkilas
2008-2012 Andrius Kubilius
2012-2016 Algirdas Butkevičius
2016- Saulius Skvernelis