Latvia Political System

According to, with capital city of Riga, Latvia is a country located in Northern Europe with total population of 1,886,209.

After independence from the Soviet Union in 1991, Latvia returned in 1993 to the old constitution of 1922. It was later expanded with an addition to basic human rights.

Latvia is a parliamentary-democratic republic and a united state. Legislative power has been added to parliament, Saeima, which has 100 members. They are elected for four (previously three) years and the mandates are allocated according to the ratio method. The government, headed by a prime minister, is based on and is accountable to the assembly. The head of state, the president, is elected by the Assembly for four years, and has a primary primary role. See for shopping and eating in Latvia.

Politics after independence has been characterized by parliamentary unrest. Many and small parties have made it difficult to create government stability. There has also been a dispute with Russia about borders and disputes over citizenship of Russians and other non-Latvians.

Where is Latvia


Administratively, Latvia is divided into 26 districts and seven urban areas, all with local elected bodies. See ABBREVIATIONFINDER for how LV can stand for Latvia.


The judiciary and legislation are reorganized after independence in 1991. The Supreme Court is the Supreme Court. The judges are appointed by the president and approved by parliament. In addition to lower courts, there is also a Constitutional Court.

Presidents of Latvia

Period President
1990-1993 Anatolia Gorbunovs 1)
1993-1999 Guntis Ulmanis
1999-2007 Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga
2007-2011 Valdis Zatlers
2011-2015 Andris Bērziņš
2015- Raimonds Vējonis

1) Chairman of the 1992 High Council, Acting President 1992-1993.

Prime Ministers of Latvia

Period Prime minister
1990-1993 Ivars Godmanis
1993-1994 Valdis Birkavs
1994-1995 Māris Gailis
1995-1997 Andris Šķēle
1997-1998 Guntars Krasts
1998-1999 Vilis Krištopans
1999-2000 Andris Šķēle
2000-2002 Andris Bērziņš
2002-2004 Einars Repše
2004 Indulis Emsis
2004-2007 Aigars Kalvītis
2007-2009 Ivars Godmanis
2009-2014 Valdis Dombrovskis
2014-2016 Laimdota Straujuma
2016-2019 Māris Kučinskis
2019- Arturs Krišjānis Kariņš