Fiji Political System

According to, with capital city of Suva, Fiji is a country located in Melanesia with total population of 896,456.

Where is Fiji

Following the Constitution of 1997, Fiji is an independent and democratic republic. See ABBREVIATIONFINDER for how FJ can stand for Fiji. The head of state, the president, is nominated by the traditionally based chief council, Bose Levu Vakaturaga. In essence, however, the real executive power lies with the prime minister and the government. The government is based on, and is responsible for, the House of Representatives elected. Legislative power is in accordance with the constitution of the parliament, which has two chambers – a senate of 32 members, appointed by the president (14 on the proposal of the chief council, 9 on the proposal of the prime minister, 8 on the proposal of the opposition leader and one on the proposal of the island council on Rotuma) for a term of up to five years, and a House of Representatives with 71 members, elected in direct elections on a partial ethnic basis and for up to five years. 23 of the representatives are elected by ethnic Fijians, 19 by Indians, one by the inhabitants of the island of Rotuma and three by various ethnic groups; the last 25 seats are free. In many respects, especially economic ones, the Senate plays a minor role.

After independence from Britain in 1970, Fiji continued as a member of the Commonwealth (Commonwealth) with the British monarch as head of state. The country became a republic after two military coups in 1987. Ever since independence, tensions between ethnic Fijians and indiscriminate residents have characterized politics. Ethnic Fijians have been in power most of the time since independence, and the President must be Fijians according to the Constitution. The two groups come together mainly on their own parties. The ethnic tensions and the consequent emigration of well-educated Indians and a vulnerable economy with tourism as the main source of currency income make the political system unstable. The incumbent president came to power after a coup in 2000 and was deposed in a military coup in December 2006,


Administratively, Fiji is divided into four areas and a total of 14 provinces.


The judiciary is in principle independent of the political system, but after the coup in 1987, a number of judges deposed and 2/3 of the country’s lawyers left the country. The judiciary comprises a supreme court, under which a court of appeal and, in the first instance, the magistrate’s courts. The legislation is based on British examples.