Swaziland Political System

According to Countryaah.com, with capital city of Mbabane, Swaziland is a country located in Southern Africa with total population of 1,163,491.

Where is Eswatini

Constitution and political system

The National Assembly passed a new constitution in 2005, but this was rejected by the King. A revised version was then adopted and entered into force in 2006. According to this, Swaziland is a unitary monarchy. The king is quite unanimous, he appoints the government and can dissolve the National Assembly. The Legislative Assembly is called Libandla and consists of two houses, the National Assembly and the Senate. The National Assembly consists of 65 deputies, 55 elected in the general election following the nomination of the local councils (Tinkhundla), and 10 appointed by the king. The Senate has 30 members, 20 appointed by the King and 10 elected by the National Assembly. Parties are not allowed, but some political associations have emerged since 1996.

Administrative division

The country of Swaziland is divided into four districts. See ABBREVIATIONFINDER for how WZ can stand for Swaziland. In addition, there are 273 regional tribal areas; these are gathered in 55 Tinkhundla, local electoral districts. The administrative division reflects the traditional style of governance.


The judiciary encompasses two parallel court hierarchies and reflects the two-tiered political system: traditional-modern. One court hierarchy is structured according to the British pattern, with a supreme court, an appeals court and district courts. The second hierarchy consists of 17 Swazi courts. They include in addition to first instance courts, two appeal courts and a higher court of appeal. Their jurisdiction is limited in both civil and criminal cases, and does not include non-Swazi citizens. The Swaziland Supreme Court can appeal decisions from the Swazi Supreme Court of Appeal. All judges are appointed by the King, but the courts are relatively independent.

Weights and Measures

Dimensions and weight are British and metric.